Cradle to Cradle: Remaking the Way We Make Things by William McDonough and Michael Braungart was written in 2002. Since I am a relative newcomer to the world of green manufacturing, I haven’t read the book yet, but in my research I have seen plenty of references to the book and its concepts. So many referances in fact that I get the sense that it is a must read. How can I comment on this topic without understanding the books principles better?

According to McDonough.com Cradle to Cradle:

“describes the hopeful, nature-inspired design principles that are making industry both prosperous and sustainable, the book itself is a physical symbol of the changes to come. It is printed on a synthetic ‘paper,’ made from plastic resins and inorganic fillers, designed to look and feel like top quality paper while also being waterproof and rugged.”

Words about sustainable methods made by sustainable methods. While I support a book that strives to be eco friendly through and through, I have chosen to obtain it in an even greener fashion. I’ll borrow it for free from the public library near my house, and I’ll start reading it as soon as it is available. Then I’ll be able to pass on important principles for all my green manufacturing readers.

ALSO, GREEN COLLAR MEDIA IS LOOKING FOR AUTHORS. IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO MAKE YOUR VOICE HEARD ON THIS BLOG OR ONE OF OUR SOON TO BE LAUNCHED CHANNELS, DON’T HESITATE. SEND YOUR IDEAS, POSTS, OR COMMENTS TO SEAN@GREENCOLLARMEDIA.COM AND WE CAN START  WORKING TOGETHER TO PROGRESS TOWARDS A GREEN COLLAR ECONOMY.

 

